Vale Bob Baxt

We acknowledge with sadness the recent passing of

Professor Robert “Bob” Baxt AO

Bob (as he was affectionately known by all) was an early President of the BFSLA, and served in that office from 1992 to 1994. He regularly returned as a speaker at the Association’s Annual Conference.

Bob had a long and distinguished career in the law as a private practitioner, an academic and in public service. Among other roles, Bob was Dean of the Monash University Law Faculty from 1980 to 1988, and Chairman of the Trade Practices Commission (now the ACCC) from 1988 to 1991.

Bob had a lifelong commitment to the development and sharing of knowledge of Australian commercial law. Among his many publications, Bob was the author of a number of standard reference works on Australian securities, financial services and corporate law. He was also the founding editor of the Australian Business Law Review (1975) and the Company & Securities Law Journal (1982), a Consulting Editor for the Journal of Banking & Finance Law & Practice and editor of the “Competition & Consumer Law” and “Corporations & Securities” sections in the Australian Law Journal. He maintained a close and active involvement in all of these publications right to the end.

Over his career, Bob made an enduring contribution to the legal profession and Australian legal jurisprudence that will long survive his passing.

We extend our deepest sympathies to Bob's family and friends for their loss.


Past & Current Presidents

Bruce WhittakerAshurst2017-present
Simon JensenBuddle Findlay2015-2017
Paul RogersonNRMA2013-2015
Graham CurdWestpac Banking Corporation2011-2013
John EvansHenry Davis York2009-2011
Diccon LoxtonAllens Arthur Robinson2007-2009
Elisabeth WentworthFinancial Ombudsman Services2005-2007
Alan MillhouseAllens Arthur Robinson2003-2005
Dermot RossChapman Tripp2001-2003
Paul BearMinter Ellison1999-2001
Clive CravenClayton Utz1998-1999
John AbbottCommonwealth Bank of Australia1996-1998
Roger DrummondBell Gully1994-1996
Bob BaxtAllens Arthur Robinson1992-1994
Peter ShortFeez Ruthning1990-1992
John CadellAllen Allen & Hemsley1988-1990
Tom BostockMallesons Stephen Jaques1986-1988
David BruceNational Australia Bank1984-1986